Iron-Man Series adds Ponderosa and Lake Cumberland back to 2020 schedule


Ryan King is the current Iron-Man Late Model Series points leader


SOMERSET, KENTUCKY (July 26, 2020)—The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt and Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Open Wheel Modified Series have announced a few schedule updates for the tour.

With COVID-19 adjusting everyone’s schedules for 2020, the Iron-Man Series has held only one Open Wheel race so far this season but has held six Late Model races this season. Since tracks in Kentucky are now allowed to have race fans, the Late Model races at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. scheduled for August 7 and October 2 have been added back to the schedule along with the Late Model races at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky. for August 29 and October 10. The double-header Open Wheel weekend of September 18 and 19 will be back on the schedule as well for a pair of $1,200-to-win races.

The next Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series by DirtonDirt race will be Friday August 7 at Ponderosa Speedway paying $4,000-to-win for the Pete Abell Memorial then Saturday August 8 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. paying $5,000-to-win for the 16th Annual CT Promotions Iron-Man Classic.

The next Brucebilt Iron-Man Open Wheel Series race will be on Saturday August 1 at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn. paying $1,200-to-win and $125-to-start.

Further information about the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model & Brucebilt Iron-Man Open Wheel Series presented by can be obtained by calling Promoter Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model & Brucebilt Iron-Man Open Wheel Series Sponsors include: Schaeffer’s Oil, Brucebilt Performance,, VP Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Graphic Impressions, Wiles Driveshafts, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Vic Hill Racing Engines, Earnhardt Technologies, Envy Suspension, Hoosier Racing Tire, E-Z-GO, Cruise with the Champions, Swafford Signs, and Speedway Videos Production.

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Schedule:

May 25-411 Motor (TN) Speedway-CORY HEDGECOCK

May 30-Tazewell (TN) Speedway-DAVID PAYNE

June 5-Wartburg (TN) Speedway-JOSH RICE

June 6-I-75 (TN) Raceway-HEATH HINDMAN

July 3-Tazewell (TN) Speedway-JASON TRAMMELL

July 4-Volunteer (TN) Speedway-CORY HEDGECOCK

August 7-Ponderosa (TN) Speedway-$4,000 to win (Pete Abell Memorial)

August 8-Smoky Mountain (TN) Speedway-$5,000 to win (Iron-Man Classic)

August 29-Lake Cumberland (KY) Speedway-$10,022 to win (Harold Hardgrove Memorial)

September 6-Tazewell (TN) Speedway-$4,400 to win (Buddy Rogers Memorial)

October 2-Ponderosa (KY) Speedway-$4,000 to win (Fall Classic)

October 10-Lake Cumberland (KY) Speedway-$5,000 to win (Lake Cumberland Classic)

November 28-411 Motor (TN) Speedway-$5,000 to win (The Leftover)


2020 Brucebilt Iron-Man Open Wheel Modified Series Schedule:

June 20-I-75 (TN) Raceway-BLAKE BROWN

August 1-Volunteer (TN) Speedway-$1,200 to win

August 14-Crossville (TN) Speedway-$1,200 to win

August 15-I-75 (TN) Raceway-$1,200 to win

August 21-TBA

August 22-Wartburg (TN) Speedway-$1,200 to win

September 18-Ponderosa (KY) Speedway-$1,200 to win

September 19-Lake Cumberland (KY) Speedway-$1,200 to win

November 28-411 Motor (TN) Speedway-$1,200 to win (The Leftover)


Current Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Points (after 7/4)

  1. Ryan King-358
  2. Michael Chilton-324
  3. David Payne-306
  4. Dakotah Knuckles-275
  5. Jake Knowles-270
  6. Pearson Lee Williams-269 (Rookie)
  7. Joey Standridge-255
  8. Cory Hedgecock-220
  9. Donald McIntosh-204
  10. David Crabtree-182


Current Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series Points (after 6/20)

  1. Blake Brown-80
  2. Clayton Miller-75
  3. Brandon Kinzer-70
  4. Jimmy Dalton-65
  5. Jesse Rupe-60
  6. Bo Allison-55
  7. Terry James-53
  8. Brandon James- 51
  9. Billy Palmer-49
  10. Joey Cotterman-47


Comments are closed.