Donny Schatz goes back-to-back to close out World Finals; Brad Sweet takes WoO title

Donny Schatz won his second consecutive feature in Charlotte

Donny Schatz made it two wins in two nights as he earned $25,000 in the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series finale on Saturday night at The Dirt Track in Charlotte. The 10-time series champion drove his Tony Stewart Racing car to victory after taking the lead at the two-thirds mark of the feature.

Also, Brad Sweet drove to a fifth place finish which assured the Kasey Kahne Racing driver of his fourth consecutive World of Outlaws championship.

A total of 52 cars were signed in for competition

Heat 1 Results: 1. Brad Sweet, 2. Tyler Courtney, 3. Justin Peck, 4. Sye Lynch, 5. Buddy Kofoid

Heat 2 Results: 1. Carson Macedo, 2. Sheldon Haudenschild, 3. Spencer Bayston, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Jacob Allen

Heat 3 Results: 1. Donny Schatz, 2. Giovanni Scelzi, 3. Brent Marks, 4. Cale Thomas, 5. James McFadden

Heat 4 Results: 1. David Gravel, 2. Cole Macedo, 3. Anthony Macri, 4. Logan Schuchart, 5. Cory Eliason

C-main Finish: 1. Greg Wilson, 2. Carl Bowser

Last Chance Showdown Finish: 1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Brock Zearfoss, 3. Kraig Kinser, 4. Kasey Kahne

Feature Re-cap: There was a caution on the initial attempt to start the race as Zearfoss and Kahne spun. 

Once the 30-lap feature got underway, Sweet took the early lead ahead of Schatz, Scelzi, Abreu and Haudenschild. Both Haudenschild and Gravel passed by Abreu on the second circuit to move into positions four and five.

Haudenschild moved in to challenge Scelzi for third as those traded sliders as the race approached the halfway mark. Meanwhile, Sweet began to fall back. Both Schatz and Haudenschild got by with 10 laps remaining then Scelzi also passed to move into third.

As Schatz built an advantage of more than two seconds with five laps to go, Carson Macedo entered the top-5 as Gravel started to fade.

A lap 29 caution for the slowing car of Cale Thomas provided one last chance for Schatz’s competitors to take the win away. However, the 10-time series champion blasted to the checkered flag to claim the win.

Brad Sweet earned the WoO championship

Feature Results: 1. Donny Schatz, 2. Giovanni Scelzi, 3. Sheldon Haudenschild, 4. Carson Macedo, 5. Brad Sweet, 6. Rico abreu, 7. Brent Marks, 8. Spencer Bayston, 9. Lance Dewease. 10. David Gravel, 11. Logan Schuchart, 12. James McFadden, 13. Buddy Kofoid, 14. Sye Lynch, 15. Tyler Courtney, 16. Cory Eliason, 17. Brock Zearfoss, 18. Kasey Kahne, 19. Robbie Price, 20. Kraig Kinser, 21. Cale Thomas, 22. Anthony Macri, 23. Jacob Allen, 24. Bill Rose, 25. Noah Gass, 26. Cole Macedo, 27. Justin Peck

Please consider also reading:

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.