Dennis Erb Jr. earns WoO Late Model victory at Marion Center


Dennis Erb Jr. extended his WoO points lead with the win

Dennis Erb Jr. entered Friday night’s action at the Marion Center Raceway leading the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Late Model Series standings and the veteran driver padded that advantage by winning the feature on the second night of three the series will spend in the Keystone State.

The Rocket Chassis driver from Carpentersville, Illinois scored $10,000 for his victory on the quarter-mile track located in Marion Center, Pennsylvania and shown live by

A total of 42 cars were signed in for competition.

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Max Blair(14.282, New Track Record)), 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Gordy Gundaker, 4. Tanner English, 5. Kyle Hammer, 6. Brent Larson, 7. Alex Ferree, 8. Coleby Frye, 9. Jared Miley, 10. Ryan Gustin

Group B Results- 1. Dennis Erb Jr., 2. Rick Eckert, 3. Gregg Satterlee, 4. Josh Richards, 5. Chub Frank, 6. Wyatt Scott, 7. Jonathan Lee, 8. Drake Troutman, 9. Michael Norris, 10. Matt Lux

Heat 1 Results: 1. Max Blair, 2. Gordy Gundaker, 3. Kyle Hammer, 4. Jared Miley

Heat 2 Results: 1. Shane Clanton, 2. Brent Larson, 3. Ryan Gustin, 4. Coleby Frye

Heat 3 Results: 1. Dennis Erb Jr., 2. Gregg Satterlee, 3. Jonathan Lee, 4. Chub Frank

Heat 4 Results: 1. Rick Eckert, 2. Wyatt Scott, 3. Josh Richards, 4. Drake Troutman

Last Chance Showdown 1 Finish: 1. Ryan Montgomery, 2. Alex Ferree, 3. Danny Snyder

Last Chance Showdown 2 Finish:

Redraw Results: 1. Eckert, 2. Erb, 3. Clanton, 4. Blair, 5. Larson, 6. Satterlee, 7. Scott, 8. Gundaker

Feature Re-cap: When the 40-lap feature took the green flag Erb used his outside front row starting position to his advantage as he jumped into the early lead with Eckert, Clanton, Blair and Satterlee in his tire tracks. A caution just after the completion of the first lap for a spin by Kyle Hammer brought a break in the action.

On the restart, Blair moved to second bringing Clanton and Satterlee along as Eckert fell to fifth. However, Satterlee’s gain would be short lived as he slowed on lap 5 to bring out another yellow flag. On that restart, Clanton and Blair fought over second just behind Erb with Clanton emerging with the position.

Further back, Richards entered the top-5 as Erb began to pull away from his pursuers. Richards got around Gundaker for fourth on lap 14 with Lee following suit by also passing Gundaker.

A series a yellow flags through the race’s middle stages did little to harm Erb’s tight grip on the race lead. However, Blair dropped well back on a lap 25 restart which is significant in that he came into the event second behind Erb in the standings.

Over the closing laps, Erb kept control of the race and ultimately sailed under the checkered flag to score the victory.

“We’ve just been working hard at everything and we’ve got a little setup here that’s working good for me right now,” Erb told DirtVision’s Hannah Newhouse in his post-race interview. “We’re just rolling with that. We finished strong at the end of the year last year so I think that carried a lot of momentum into this year. We’re just going to keep plugging away. We work hard each night so we can end up here in victory lane.”

Feature Results: 1. Dennis Erb Jr., 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Josh Richards, 4. Gordy Gundaker, 5. Jonathan Lee, 6. Brent Larson, 7. Tanner English, 8. Rick Eckert, 9. Max Blair, 10. Chub Frank, 11. Jared Miley, 12. Boom Briggs, 13. John Weaver, 14. Wyatt Scott, 15. Coleby Frye, 16. Ryan Montgomery, 17. Kyle Hammer, 18. Matt Lux, 19. Alex Ferree, 20. Ryan Gustin, 21. Colton Flinner, 22. Danny Snyder, 23. Gregg Satterlee, 24. Drake Troutman

Please consider also reading:

Tyler Erb claims Lucas Oil feature at 300 Raceway

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.