David Payne wins rain-shortened Southern Nationals feature at Tri-County

David Payne took the lead at the start and held on until the rain came

With rain all around the area, the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals event at the Tri-County Race Track went into hurry up mode as the primary class of the night simply qualified then started their feature race. Those hurried efforts paid off(just barely) as the race had to be called at the halfway point. David Payne proved to be the beneficiary as he was leading at the time rain set in.

The Capital Race Cars driver from Murphy, NC earned $7553 for his efforts on the quarter-mile track located in Brasstown, NC in a race shown live by FloRacing.com.

A total of 22 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results: 1. Payton Freeman(12.294), 2. David Payne, 3. Spencer Diercks, 4. Brandon Overton, 5. Kenny Collins, 6. Dalton Cook, 7. Wil Herrington, 8. John Henderson, 9. Jamie Oliver, 10. Dakotah Knuckles, 11. Brenden Smith, 12. Cory Hedgecock, 13. Jensen Ford, 14. Galen Robinson, 15. Shawn Chastain, 16. Joe Denby, 17. Ryan Wilson, 18. Parker Martin, 19. Will Roland, 20. Drew Deaver, 21. Danny Ledford, 22. Tucker Anderson

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 53-lap main event it was Payne who grabbed the early advantage with Freeman, Overton, Diercks and Cook trailing. As the top-4 fell into line, Cook and Collins fought over the fifth spot. Until a caution for a flat tire on Ford’s machine slowed the pace. 

Before a lap could be completed another yellow flag was displayed for a multi-car incident that involved series leader Hedgecock, Roland and Martin. Once green flag racing resumed, Overton moved into second behind Payne.

The lead duo of Payne and Overton began to encounter slower traffic on lap 14 which allowed Overton to close in. But Payne would pull away by a big margin as the race worked toward the halfway mark. Then a caution for a crash involving Denby erased Payne’s advantage on lap 27.

During the lap 27 caution, the skies opened up and heavy rain began to fall. Soon afterward, series director and track owner Ray Cook made the decision to call the race at that point. Race leader David Payne was declared the winner of the event.

Feature Results: 1. David Payne, 2. Brandon Overton, 3. Payton Freeman, 4. Wil Herrington, 5. Spencer Diercks, 6. Dalton Cook, 7. Kenny collins, 8. John Henderson, 9. Dakotah Knuckles, 10. Will Roland, 11. Jamie Oliver, 12. Cory Hedgecock, 13. Danny Ledford, 14. Parker Martin, 15. Tucker Anderson, 16. Jensen Ford, 17. Brenden Smith, 18. Joe Denby, 19. Ryan Wilson, 20. Galen Robinson, 21. Shawn Chastain, 22. Drew Deaver

Please consider also reading:


Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.