Dakotah Knuckles, Robbie Buchanan among Tazewell winners


Dakotah Knuckles No. 21K Rocket

October 7, 2017

Late Model points leader Dakotah Knuckles moved one step closer to the Championship by leading every lap of the thirty lap feature on Saturday night. Knuckles turned the fastest lap in time trials with a lap of 11.806 seconds with Tazewell’s Josh Fields only a blink behind with a lap of 11.962 seconds. Smashing the loud pedal Knuckles took the lead on the back stretch on the opening lap while Fields and Clyde Overholt of Tazewell fought for second. By the halfway mark Knuckles distanced himself from the rest of the field. The race would go caution free until a spinning Matthew Holt of Thorn Hill brought out the yellow flag with three laps to go. On the restart Overholt worked the low side in turn four to take over second from Fields.

Knuckles would lead flag-to-flag for his seventh win of the season and celebrate his mother Vivian’s birthday driving the Florida Veterinary Cardiology, Marcum Oil, Howerton Roofing, ALACO, Jovida Enterprises, Hickory Star Marina, C&C Trucking, Liberty Sport & Pawn, Hill’s Truck Repair, Timberline Barns sponsored Rocket Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine.


Late Model

  1. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
  2. 4 Clyde Overholt
  3. 11 Josh Fields
  4. 17 Brian Shockley
  5. 18 Michael Rutherford
  6. 22 Matthew Holt


In Sportsman action Cody Smith of Barbourville, KY turned the fastest time and led every lap of the feature to earn his fourth win of the season in the Cassie’s Beauty Base, The Depot on Main Fine Dining, Brucebilt Performance, Sparky’s Window Tinting sponsored, DJ’s Performance Race Engine powered Revelution Race car. The win ddin’t come easy as Smith had to hold off Russellville’s Aaron Guinn and points leader Travis Fultz of Harrogate for the entire race.



  1. 11 Cody Smith
  2. 97 Aaron Guinn
  3. T0 Travis Fultz
  4. 17 Logan Seal
  5. 28 Randy Davis
  6. 28J Justin James
  7. 21 Brian Howerton
  8. 22 Jason Sizemore
  9. 99 Chris Raines
  10. 76 Joe Bray
  11. 8W Paul Whitley
  12. 24 Andy Wilder

DNS 15 Donovan Long


Former Modified Street Champion Robbie Buchanan of Tazewell cruised for his fourth Super Stock victory of the season in the Petty’s Wrecker Service, Robbie’s Auto Sales, Tim Fletcher Heating & Cooling, 1st Class Recovery, P&P Cole, Tenkenva Arabian Horses sponsored, DJ’s Performance Race Engine powered Monte Carlo. The win would give Buchanan enough to take over the points lead with only one points race remaining.


Super Stock

  1. P21 Robbie Buchanan
  2. 05 Gary Blanken
  3. 24 Jeff Ferguson
  4. C4 Logan Cobb
  5. 56 Tony Horton
  6. 9 Chris Hickman
  7. 4 Brandon Hickman
  8. 59 Brian McDaniel
  9. 69 Brian Preston


Chuck McMahan of Dandridge fought off Tyler Haynes of Hickory Flat, VA in the early laps and Cosby’s Joey Allen in the latter laps of the 4 Cylinder feature to record his fourth win of the season in the Koontz Plumbing & Mechanical, Lowe’s Auto Parts, Jim Ford Automotive, Original Mr. Freezo sponsored Ford Mustang.


4 Cylinder

  1. 99 Chuck McMahan
  2. 00 Joey Allen
  3. 22 Chris Reichert
  4. 72 Rufus Collett
  5. 21 Tyler Haynes
  6. 38 James Collett
  7. 72 Walter Walsh
  8. 5 Terry Boshears
  9. 77 Larry Hickman

DNS 1 Mark Wallace


Jason Saylor of Harlan, KY picked up his second win in a row by leading every lap of the Classic Car feature over a hard charging John Stevens of Wallins Creek, KY.


Classic Car

  1. 5S Jason Saylor
  2. 7 John Setvens
  3. 5 Hayston Collett
  4. 69 Jesse Hickman


Comments are closed