Cory Hedgecock adds Sexton Memorial to list of 411 triumphs

Cory Hedgecock wins again at 411

It’s no secret that Cory Hedgecock is very good at 411 Motor Speedway and on Monday night in a Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series event he once again confirmed that after taking the lead on lap 7 then driving on to victory. It was the second win in the Scott Sexton Memorial race for the driver of the No. 23 machine.

The BMF Race Cars driver from Loudon, Tennessee earned $5,052 for the win on the track located in Seymour, TN.

With 21 cars signed in for competition, series and track official opted to set the feature lineup based on qualifying results.

Qualifying Results: 1. Cory Hedgecock(14.447), 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Rusty Ballenger, 4. Jensen Ford, 5. Donald McIntosh, 6. Dakotah Knuckles, 7. Booger Brooks, 8. Mack McCarter, 9. Josh Henry, 10. Austin Neely, 11. Adam Ahl, 12. Jake Whitehead, 13. Tristan Chamberlain, 14. Chase Oliver, 15. Stacy Boles, 16. Chase King, 17. Mike Bargo, 18. Tim Bounds, 19. Kenneth Howell, 20. Thomas Langley, 21. James Kelso

Feature Re-cap: The 40-lap feature got underway with Weiss taking the early lead ahead of Hedgecock, Ford, Knuckles and Ballenger. Soon after the waving of the green flag, Weiss and Hedgecock looked to make it a two car race as they began slipping away from the rest of the field. 

As the leaders began to encounter slower traffic, Hedgecock was able to get by Weiss to claim the lead of the race.

A lap 11 caution slowed the action. Top-5 running Brooks pulled off track with mechanical issues and retired from the race. On the ensuing restart, McIntosh broke into the top-5 as Hedgecock, Weiss, Ford and Knuckles showed the way.

At the halfway mark, McIntosh continued to climb up the leaderboard by passing Knuckles for fourth. Soon after, he would also get by Ford for third. At the same time, McCarter began working his way up the running order as he took fourth.

A trio of mid-race cautions, one for a spin by top-10 Knuckles, set up multiple restarts that saw Hedgecock control the pace while Weiss, McIntosh, Ford and McCarter battled to fill in the other top-5 spots.

In the end, it was Hedgecock who would sail under the checkered flag to score the victory.

Feature Results: 1. Cory Hedgecock, 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Donald McIntosh, 4. Mack McCarter, 5. Jensen Ford, 6. Josh Henry, 7. Adam Ahl, 8. Chase Oliver, 9. Tristan Chamberlain, 10. Chase King, 11. Dakotah Knuckles, 12. Mike Bargo, 13. Jake Whitehead, 14. Thomas Langley, 15. Rusty Ballenger, 16. Stacy Boles, 17. James Kelso, 18. Austin Neely, 19. Booger Brooks, 20. Kenneth Howell, 21. Tim Bounds

Please consider also reading:

Devin Moran handed Show-me 100 victory following Thornton’s post-race DQ

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out

Comments are closed.