Chris Madden makes it two straight Friday triumphs at Bristol


Chris Madden has earned two big paydays at BMS

Chris Madden had already collected $50,000 for his win last Friday night in the Karl Kustoms Bristol Dirt Nationals and he made it two-for-two on this Friday night after turning in a dominating performance on the high banks of the Bristol Motor Speedway.

The Rocket Chassis driver from Gray Court, SC earned another $50,000 for his efforts in the XR Super Series sanctioned event.

A total of 30 cars were signed in for competition.

Group A Qualifying Results- 1. Mike Marlar(15.179), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Jonathan Davenport, 4. Chris Ferguson, 5. Kyle Strickler, 6. Ross Bailes, 7. Kyle Larson, 8. Earl Pearson Jr., 9. Christian  Hanger, 10. Mark Whitener

Group B Qualifying Results- 1. Chris Madden(14.950), 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Scott Bloomquist, 4. Jimmy Owens, 5. Brandon Overton, 6. Ricky Thornton Jr., 7. Devin Moran, 8. Kyle Bronson, 9. Darrell Lanigan, 10. Ashton Winger

Heat Race 1 Results(Top-4 Transfer): 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Kyle Larson, 4. Dale McDowell

Heat Race 2 Results: 1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Chris Ferguson 3. Ross Bailes, 4. Earl Pearson Jr.

Heat Race 3 Results: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Scott Bloomquist, 3. Devin Moran, 4. Brandon Overton

Heat Race 4 Results: 1. Ricky ‘Weiss, 2. Jimmy Owens, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr., 4. Kyle Bronson

B-main Finish(Top-6 Transfer): 1. Darrell Lanigan, 2. Kyle Strickler, 3. Mark Whitener, 4. Shane Clanton, 5. Dakotah Knuckles, 6. Joseph Joiner

At the start of the 50-lap feature it was Madden who blasted to the early lead with Marlar, Weiss, Sheppard and Bloomquist trailing. Madden pulled away from the pack quickly as he had built a 2.5-second lead by lap 4. However, a caution on lap 10 for debris slowed the pace and erased Madden’s advantage.

After a lap 10 restart that saw Moran jump into the top-5 it would be disaster for second running Marlar on lap 12 when he slammed the outside wall.

The race would run caution free for the remainder of the distance. Madden again built a big lead but when he found himself caught behind slower traffic Weiss was able to close in on the rear spoiler of the lead machine. But once the traffic was cleared, Madden again went back to his dominating ways.

While there was never a serious challenge for the lead, the fighting further back was fierce as the top groove came in for drivers such as Larson, Ferguson and Moran. Those three stars moved forward as the lasp clicked away but were not able to close the distance on the front runner.

In the end, it was Chris Madden who claimed the big check and set himself up in good position to earn the $100,000 bonus available to the driver who scores the most points in the four races held over the past two weekends here at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Feature Finish: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Chris Ferguson, 3. Devin Moran, 4. Kyle Larson, 5. Ricky Weiss, 6. Scott Bloomquist, 7. Dale McDowell, 8. Jonathan Davenport, 9. Brandon Sheppard, 10. Earl Pearson Jr., 11. Kyle Strickler, 12. Jimmy Owens, 13. Kyle Bronson, 14. Brandon Overton, 15. Ricky Thornton Jr., 16. Darrell Lanigan, 17. Dakotah Knuckles, 18. Joseph Joiner, 19. Ashton Winger, 20. Garrett Smith, 21. Mike Marlar, 22. Mark Whitener, 23. Shane Clanton, 24. Ross Bailes

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.