Chris Madden Claims Elusive Eldora win in Dream A Group Preliminary Feature

Chris Madden earned an Eldora win on Saturday afternoon

Chris Madden is always among the favorites at Eldora Speedway but has never been able to capture one of the track’s crown jewel prizes. However, he came a step closer to doing that on Saturday afternoon when he raced to a win in the rain-delayed Dirt Late Model Dream B Group Preliminary Feature race.

The Rocket Chassis driver from Gray Court, SC was awarded $12,000 for his win on the half-mile clay oval located in Rossburg, Ohio and aired live by

A total of 114 cars were signed in for competition in both the A & B Groups combined.

Points acquired during all of the day’s activities would play an important role in setting the heat race lineups for the Dirt Late Model Dream.

Qualifying Results: 1. Chris Ferguson(15.781), 2. Carson Ferguson, 3. Stormy Scott, 4. Ross Bailes, 5. Austin Kirkpatrick, 6. Johnny Scott, 7. Kyle Hammer, 8. Jonathan Davenport, 9. Trent Ivey, 10. Kent Robinson, 11. Nick Hoffman, 12. Brandon Sheppard, 13. Gregg Satterlee, 14. Parker Martin, 15. Tyler Erb, 16. Jimmy Owens

The top-16 would be inverted for the purpose of setting heat race lineups.

Heat 1 Results: 1. Chris Ferguson, 2. Scott Bloomquist, 3. Austin Kirkpatrick, 4. Mason Zeigler, 5. Cade Dillard

Heat 2 Results: 1. Brian Shirley, 2. Carson Ferguson, 3. Dale McDowell, 4. Daulton Wilson. 5. Johnny Scott

Heat 3 Results: 1. Tyler Erb, 2. Chris Madden, 3. Nick Hoffman, 4. Tim McCreadie, 5. Bobby Pierce

Heat 4 Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Jimmy Owens, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Ricky Weiss, 5. Spencer Hughes

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Earl Pearson Jr., 2. Shannon Babb

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Stormy Scott, 2. Chase Junghans

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 25-lap feature, Shirley went to the lead leaving Erb, Bloomquist and Madden to battle for the right to give chase. Erb emerged with second while Madden was able to get by Bloomquist for third. The No. 44 then moved in and began to work on Erb for the runner-up spot as Thursday night’s Eldora Million winner Davenport lurked in fifth.

Madden would eventually get around Erb to claim second and then set off after Shirley. Bloomquist then took his turn as he got around Erb for third but Erb immediately fought back.

A lap 10 caution for the slowing car of Wilson slowed the pace. On the restart, Shirley maintained the lead as Madden continued to engage. further back, Davenport and Erb were battling four fourth when contact between the two caused Davenport to fall back.

Davenport then slowed with a flat tire to bring out a yellow flag on lap 17.

On the restart, Madden claimed the top spot dropping Shirley into a battle with Erb.

From that point, Madden would sail away to the win.

Feature Results: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Tyler Erb, 4. Scott Bloomquist, 5. Dale McDowell, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Chris Ferguson, 8. Tim McCreadie, 9. Nick Hoffman, 10. Carson Ferguson, 11. Jimmy Owens, 12. Ricky Weiss, 13. Earl Pearson Jr., 14. Jonathan Davenport, 15. Shannon Babb, 16. Cade Dillard, 17. Mason Zeigler, 18. Chase Junghans, 19. Johnny Scott, 20. Stormy Scott, 21. Spencer Hughes, 22. Austin Kirkpatrick, 23. Bobby Pierce, 24. Daulton Wilson

Please consider also reading:

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.