Chase King, Lucas Lee earn Hangover victories at 411


Along with the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series, the 411 Motor Speedway hosted racing action in the Crate Late Model division as well as the Brucebilt Iron-Man Modified Series on Saturday afternoon at the Seymour, Tenn. facility. When all was said and done, Chase King came away for the Mitch and Tanya McCarter owned track with the Crate Late Model victory while Lucas Lee was triumphant in the the Modified class.

Chase King scored a Crate Late Model win on Saturday at 411

King, who regularly races in the Limited Late Model and Modified classes, had not driven a Crate Late Model in quite sometime. But he did let that slow him down as he posted the fast time in qualifying for that division by posting a lap of 14.330 seconds around the 3/8 mile clay oval. With no heat races to be run for the 22-car field, King was joined on the starting grid by Chip Brindle, Anthony White, Logan Roberson, Chase Walls, Ray Cook, Trevor Sise, Forrest Trent, Andy Ogle, and Jerry Green.

King went to the early lead at the start of the 25-lap feature for the Crate Late Model division with Brindle, Roberson, White and Cook following. White made a move toward the front quickly as he passed by Roberson t take third on the second lap of the race. Just one lap later, Brindle worked to the inside of King in hopes of taking the top spot but the No. 44 was able to hold the position.

Slower traffic came into play shortly into the main event. That, in turn, caused the front runners to challenge each other for position. Brindle again looked inside of King for the lead while Roberson attempted to regain third away from White.

The first of two caution flags waved on lap 12 when Dustin Nobbe spun. During that caution period, two drivers who would have been considered among the pre-race favorites retired from the event when White and Cory Hedgecock pulled into the pit area.

King continued as the race leader when the green flag was again displayed to the field while Ray Cook, Chase Walls and Andy Ogle scrambled for positions 4-6.

The race’s final yellow flag came out on lap 16. That set up a battle between King and Brindle that would last until the checkered flag dropped. King consistently ran a high line around the track with Brindle ducking low in virtually every turn as he looked to snatch the lead away.

But King would hold on to collect the $1,500 first prize.

Feature Finish: 1. Chase King, 2. Chip Brindle, 3. Logan Roberson, 4. Ray Cook, 5. Andy Ogle, 6. Trevor Sise, 7. Forrest Trent, 8. Chase Walls, 9. Jimmy Elliott, 10. Ronnie Higgins, 11. Rusty Ballenger, 12. Josh Henry, 13. Jerry Green, 14. Jim Couch, 15. Shane Bailey, 16. Anthony Conley, 17. Ryan Winchester, 18. Dustin Nobbe, 19. Anthony White, 20. Cory Hedgecock, 21. Josh Walker, 22. TJ Salango

Lucas Lee took the Modified checkered flag in the Hangover

Lucas Lee set fast time in Modified qualifying by turning a lap of 14.824 seconds with Billy Palmer, Christian Thomas, Wayne James, Ernie Vance, Shon Flanary, Austin Francis, Chase King, Amos Bunch and Jimmy Lennex following.

There were no heat races for the 15-car field.

Lee took the lead when the green flag waved over the 25-lap main event with Palmer, Thomas, James and Flanary in his tire tracks. Thomas swept by Palmer to take the runner-up position on the second lap While Flanary moved around James to take fourth just one lap later.

Lee had built a lead of more than ten car lengths until a caution came out on the eighth circuit when Bunch and Francis spun while racing within the top-10.

Flanary looked as if he might be a threat to steal the win during the middle stages of the race as he moved up to third and began challenging for second. Meanwhile, Palmer, Vance, Clayton Miller and James battled for positions 5-8.

However, Flanary would bring out a caution on lap 18 when he slowed on the track. From that point, Lee went unchallenged while others contested spots within the top-5 right up the waving of the checkered flag.

Feature Finish: 1. Lucas Lee, 2. Christian Thomas, 3. Ernie Vance, 4. Chase King, 5. Amos Bunch, 6. Austin Francis, 7. Wayne James, 8. Clayton Miller, 9. Ernie Gingrich, 10. Josh Brock, 11. Robbie Comer, 12. Steve Clark, 13. Billy Palmer, 14. Shon Flanary, 15. Jimmy Lennex



Comments are closed