Brandon Overton stays hot with Super Late Model triumph at 411


Brandon Overton claimed the win at 411

The hottest driver in Dirt Late Model racing remained as such on Saturday night at the 411 Motor Speedway in an unsanctioned Super Late Model event. Brandon Overton came to the Seymour, Tennessee track fresh off of his win on Friday night in the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series race at the Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, SC to turn in a dominating performance. The Longhorn Chassis driver from Evans, Georgia earned $5,000 for the win.

A total of 17 cars were signed in for competition.

Brandon Overton was fastest in qualifying with a lap 13.593 seconds around the 3/8 mile clay oval to beat out Cory Hedgecock, Pierce McCarter, Jensen Ford, Randy Weaver, Chase King, Donald McIntosh, Ryan King, Eli Beets and Forrest Trent.

Track officials opted to set the starting grid for the feature solely based on time-trials so no heats or B-main races were contested.

At the start of the feature it was Hedgecock who shot to the early lead with Overton, McCarter, Ford and King trailing. Further back, McIntosh and Weaver fought over sixth on the second circuit with McIntosh taking the position. McIntosh then moved forward to challenge King for fourth but was unable to take the spot.

By the seventh lap, Hedgecock and Overton found themselves working through slower traffic in a race that would ultimately run caution-free. One lap later, Overton dropped to the low side and made a three-wide move passing Hedgecock and a slower car to bolt into the race lead.

Overton then began to pull away leaving Hedgecock to fight with McCarter for the runner-up position. At the same time, Ford, King, McIntosh and Weaver staged an entertaining battle for fourth.

As the laps wound down, McCarter eventually passed by Hedgecock for second. However, Hedgecock would reclaim the position as the cars came to the finish line. But it would be Overton who would sail under the checkered flag to score the win.

Feature Finish: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Cory Hedgecock, 3. Pierce McCarter, 4. Jensen Ford, 5. Chase King, 6. Donald McIntosh, 7. Randy Weaver, 8. Forrest Trent, 9. Eli Beets, 10. Larry Greer, 11. Eddie King Jr., 12. Jason Cardwell, 13. Matt Tharp, 14. Ryan King, 15. Billy Moyer Jr, 16. Steve Smith, 17. Quincy Adams


Comments are closed.