Shon Flanary, Zach Sise earn wins at 411 Motor Speedway


Shon Flanary was Saturday’s Modified winner

The Brucebilt Iron-Man Modified Series made its way to 411 Motor Speedway on Saturday night to contest a $1,200-to-win event. Shon Flanary earned his second consecutive series win after a mid-race pass on a restart that would eventual lead to the Surgoinsville, Tenn. driver’s trip to victory lane.

Flanary proved to be the fastest in qualifying for the Modified cars as he turned a lap around the 3/8 mile clay oval in 15.873 seconds. Don Adams, Clayton Miller, Chase King and Jody Puckett rounded out the top-5 in time-trials.

There would be no heat races as the 19-car field was lined up based solely on qualifying results.

Adams used his outside front row starting spot to his advantage as he grabbed the early lead of the race after a full lap of running side-by-side with Flanary after the waving of the green flag for the 25-lap event. Miller attempted an early move as he looked under Flanary in hopes of taking the runner-up spot but the No. 98 machine was able to hold the position.

A lap 2 caution flag waved for a spin at the tail of the field. The restart provided Flanary with the opportunity to make a move, which he did by diving inside of Adams as the cars raced through turns one and two. However, Adams maintained the lead during the early going.

Flanary would persist in his attempts to get under Adams as the early laps clicked off, while at the same time, Puckett began to hound King for fourth.

Billy Palmer spun to bring out a yellow flag on lap 9. That set up the race’s pivotal moment.

On the lap 9 restart, Flanary dove to the inside in turn one and allowed his car to slide up the track as they raced through turn two. Flanary slid up in front of Adams at the exit of two and secured the race lead going down the back stretch. From that point, the No. 98 would control the race.

Miller maintained third for the entirety of the event while Puckett, King, Joey Cotterman and Jimmy Dalton would contest positions within the top-10.

At the finish it was Shon Flanary taking the win followed by Don Adams, Clayton Miller, Jody Puckett, Chase King, Joey Cotterman and Jimmy Dalton.

Zach Sise won the Sportsman feature

In other action at the Seymour, Tenn. track, Zach Sise picked up the win in the Sportsman division as part of the facility’s regular weekly show.

Sise led the way in qualifying as he turned in a lap of 15.391 seconds to best Brad Seagle, Warren McMahan, Josh Sneed and Chris Coffey. The starting grid would be line up in that order as there were no heat races for the field of 12 cars that signed in for competition.

Seagle took the lead at the start of the 20-lap feature with Sise, Sneed, McMahan and Coffey trailing. But that early advantage would not last long for Seagle as Sise moved to the top spot on the leader board on the second circuit.

In the meantime, Coffey, McMahan, Kevin Lewis and Bradley Lewelling fought in a race-long hornet’s nest for the fourth through seventh spots. A one point, Lewis, Coffey and McMahan found themselves three-wide following a lap 4 restart with Lewis eventually emerging with the fourth position.

Ultimately, it would be Zach Sise winning the race to the checkered flag with Brad Seagle, Josh Sneed, Kevin Lewis, Chris Coffey and Warren McMahan following.



Comments are closed