Live Updates: Lucas Oil Late Models at Boyd’s Speedway(3-31-17)

Facebooktwitter will be providing live updates from the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race from the Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, GA for Friday evening, March 31, 2017. Today’s updates are being provided by Richard Allen( @RichardAllenIDR on Twitter).

These updates are brought to you by Tennessee RV. Click here to visit their website for all your RV sales and service needs.

To follow along, simply scroll down and look under each heading for that particular class. Also, refresh the page frequently as new information will be added often.

Classes in action: Lucas Oil Super Late Models for $10,000-to-win(50 laps), Crate Late Models for $1500-to-win, and Sportsman for $600-to-win.

*These updates will focus on the Super & Crate Late Model races. Other updates may be limited in favor of obtaining photos and/or stories. 

General Information: Drivers meeting is slated for 6:30pm with racing set to get underway at 7:00pm.

Weather looks to be good with only a very slight chance for showers with overnight lows in the 50s.

Josh Richards leads the LOLMDS standings over Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie and Jimmy Owens.

Chris Madden won this race in 2016.

6:30- Drivers meeting underway.

6:55- Hot laps for all classes to begin soon.

Photos: I often post pictures on my @RichardAllenIDR Twitter account if you would like to take a look.

Please also consider reading: Shane McDowell settling into role as team owner & 10 Things You Didn’t Know About … Steve Francis

Live Updates:

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Car count: 32 cars

Drivers Here: 0- Scott Bloomquist, 1H- Jason Hiett, 1P- Earl Pearson, Jr., 1R- Josh Richards, R01- Riley Hickman, 4G- Bob Gardner, 5- Don O’Neal, 7F- Jason Fitzgerald, 7m- Donald McIntosh, A8- Austin Arnold, c8- Timothy Culp, 9- Jason Croft, 14- Darrell Lanigan, 15- Steve Francis, 17m- Dale McDowell, 18x- Michael Page, 20- Jimmy Owens, 21- Robby Moses, 22- Gregg Satterlee, 22- GR Smith, 28- Dennis Erb Jr., 39- Tim McCreadie, 49- Jonathan Davenport, 50- Shanon Buckingham, 54- David Breazeale, 71- Hudson O’Neal, 75- Colton Flinner, 99- Derek Ellis, 99- Boom Briggs, 116- Brandon Overton, 157- Mike Marlar, 201- Billy Ogle Jr

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Pearson (13.981), 2. Hickman, 3. Page, 4. Ellis, 5. McDowell, 6. Lanigan

Group B Results- 1. McIntosh (13.947), 2. Marlar, 3. Bloomquist, 4. O’Neal, 5. Hiett, 6. Fitzgerald

Heat Race Results: There will be four heat races with the top-4 transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Lineup- 1. Pearson, 2. Page, 3. McDowell, 4. Francis, 5. McCreadie, 6. Buckingham, 7. Briggs, 8. Flinner

Heat 1 Results- 1. Pearson, 2. Page, 3. McDowell, 4. McCreadie

*Pearson drove away from a good race for 2nd- 4th.

Heat 2 Lineup- 1. Hickman, 2. Ellis, 3. Lanigan, 4. Owens, 5. Davenport, 6. Ogle, 7. Croft, 8. Gardner

Heat 2 Results- 1. Owens, 2. Davenport, 3. Ellis, 4. Lanigan

*Hickman had mechanical issues on the initial start. Owens passed Ellis for the lead on lap 2. Davenport passed Ellis for 3rd on lap 4.

Heat 3 Lineup- 1. McIntosh, 2. Bloomquist, 3. Hiett, 4. Moses, 5. Breazeale, 6. Erb, 7. Richards, 8. Smith

Heat 3 Results- 1. McIntosh, 2. Bloomquist, 3. Hiett, 4. Richards

*McIntosh took the lead on the start. He ran a low line most of the way to hold off Bloomquist from the high side. Richards got to the top-4 early.

Heat 4 Lineup- 1. Marlar, 2. D O’Neal, 3. Fitzgerald, 4. Overton, 5. H O’Neal, 6. Culp, 7. Satterlee, 8. Arnold

Heat 4 Results- 1. D O’Neal, 2. Marlar, 3. Overton, 4. H O’Neal

*D O’Neal took the lead on the start and had to fight off a strong challenge from Marlar. Overton and H O’Neal had a good battle for 3rd and 4th.

B-main Results: There will be two B-mains with the top-3 transferring to the feature.

B-main 1 finish- 1. Buckingham, 2. Francis, 3. Briggs

B-main 2 finish- 1. Satterlee, 2. Breazeale, 3. Culp

Feature Notes:

Feature Lineup- 1. Pearson, 2. McIntosh, 3. Owens, 4. D O’Neal, 5. Page, 6. Bloomquist, 7. Davenport, 8. Marlar, 9. McDowell, 10. Hiett, 11. Ellis, 12. Overton, 13. McCreadie, 14. Richards, 15. Lanigan, 16. H O’Neal, 17. Buckingham, 18. Satterlee, 19. Francis, 20. Breazeale, 21. Briggs, 22. Culp, 23. Erb, 24. Flinner

9:47- Feature rolling out.

9:53- A little track prep going on.

10:00- Track prep complete and feature lined up on the front stretch.

10:05- Four wide!

10:07- Green flag!

Ellis spins on the initial start.

Lap 1 caution for spin by Marlar. McDowell gets some damage as well. Pearson leads McIntosh, Owens, Page, O’Neal, Davenport, Bloomquist.

Marlar appears to be unhappy with Page.

Lap 13 caution as Bloomquist and Davenport tangle on the backstretch. Bloomquist spun and will have to go to the rear. Pearson leads McIntosh, O’Neal, Owens, Page, Davenport.

Lap 19 caution for Hiett. Racing is intense. Before caution McIntosh was pressuring Pearson for lead and Owens was battling McCreadie for 3rd. Order is Pearson, McIntosh, Owens, McCreadie, O’Neal, Page, Davenport, Overton, Richards, McDowell, Lanigan, H O’Neal.

Crash in turn 3 after the lap 19 restart when McCreadie, McIntosh and Owens went 3-wide for second. Buckingham, Richards and O’Neal among those collected. Order is Pearson, McIntosh (returned to 2nd), Owens, McCreadie, Page, Richards, Overton.

Lap 30 caution for Ellis. Pearson still leads. Owens just took second from McIntosh then it’s Page, McCreadie, Overton, Richards, Lanigan, McDowell, Satterlee.

Lap 33 caution as Page spins after tangling with McIntosh as they raced for third. Page drove into McIntosh under caution. Page is out of the race. Pearson leads Owens, McIntosh, McCreadie, Richards, Overton.

Lap 39 caution as H O’Neal stops on track. Pearson leads Owens, Richards, McIntosh, McCreadie, Bloomquist, Lanigan, Overton, McDowell, Davenport, Erb, Marlar

For a race that didn’t have a lead change, that was a wild one. That was Pearson’s first Lucas win since May of 2015.

Feature Results: 1. Pearson, 2. Richards, 3. Owens, 4. McCreadie, 5. Lanigan, 6. Bloomquist, 7. McDowell, 8. McIntosh, 9. Davenport, 10. Overton, 11. Erb, 12. Francis

Crate Late Models

Car Count: 21 cars

Qualifying Results: 1. Jamie Perry (14.711), 2. Jesse Lowe, 3. Chip Brindle, 4. Ethan Hunter, 5. Will Roland, 6. John Ownbey, 7. Bryan Pritchard, 8. Greg Martin, 9. Cody Ballard, 10. Ahnna Parkhurst

Heat Race Results: No heat races.

Feature Notes:

11:04- Green flag!

Lap 18 caution for 4th running Hunter stopped on track. Lowe leads Perry, Brindle, Roland, Ownbey.

Lap 20 caution for spin by Pritchard. Lowe leads Brindle, Perry, Ownbey, Roland, Martin, Parkhurst

Feature Results: 1. Jesse Lowe, 2. Chip Brindle, 3. Jamie Perry, 4. John Ownbey, 5. Will Roland, 6. Greg Martin, 7. Ahnna Parkhurst, 8. Bobby Richey, 9. Kyle Courtney, 10. Cody Ballard

*There is a protest of the winner.


Car Count: 11 cars

Feature Results: 1. Justin Winters, 2. Logan Walston, 3. Booger Brooks, 4. Evan Wrinkle, 5. Andrew Littleton

Dale McDowell among those expected to be in Lucas Oil competition tonight at Boyd’s


Comments are closed