King Reigns Supreme Over Competition at Wartburg Speedway




Special Correspondent for Inside Dirt Racing


Seven classes were in action at Wartburg Speedway on Saturday night, slinging dirt and creating thrilling bumper-to-bumper, thrill a minute action at the 3/10 mile bull-ring known as “The ‘Burg”.

The Pony Stock class kicked off the feature racing for the evening with Marcus Thompson and Brian Frost leading the field to the green flag. But once again, the Pony Stock class had a case of “Frost”-bite as Brian Frost went wire to wire, holding off a hard-charging Joe Freels for the win. Freels had to settle for second with Thompson in third. Donnie Turpin and Taylon Overton rounded out the top five. Sixth through tenth was Bradley Frost, Nathan Davis, Kenny Lemons, Wayne Smith, and Rick Davis. Ryan Wade was plagued with mechanical issues during hot laps and was unable to race in the feature.

In Sportsman competition, Calvin Brown and Jaylon Shannon led the field to the green flag with Brown turning in one of his best performances of the year, leading until lap twelve when a costly bobble in turn three by Brown gave Shannon the lead and the victory. Ted Lowe had to settle for second with Darren Goins in third. Brown faded to fourth as Jimmy York rounded out the top five. The remainder of the field was Bo Willis, Gary Lively, Nick Perry, Brad Adkisson, Wayne Braden, and Matthew Lloyd.

The car count might have been down in the Late Model division, but the action was red hot with Eddie King Jr.’s 12.932 lap taking the pole as King would reign supreme in the feature, going flag to flag en route to the win. Mike Weeks had to settle for second with Tim Ladd, Tim Damron, Chuck Freels, Jeremy Shannon, and Zach Shannon closing out the running order.

Westley Lester and Pete Wright led the field to the green flag in the Super Street feature, but the feature was all Lester as he would go flag to flag for the dominant win. Wright was second with Tim Kilby, Nick Jones, and Kenneth Williams closing out the top five. Nick Adams, Dwayne Chandler, Pat Lackey, Wilbert Hawkins, Don McCourt, and Skyler Douglas closed out the field.

The Thunder division saw Stephen Potter and Barry Wilson lead the field to the green flag, but the feature was all Wilson as he led every single lap to win. Dwayne Wilkerson was second with Robert Russell, Bruce Willis, and Stephen Potter completed the top five with the rest of the run-down being James McMurray, Scott Humphreys, and Daniel Daugherty.

In Front Wheel Drive action, a multi-car crash in the heat race depleted the ranks for the feature. Nick Adams, while pulling double-duty in the Street class, would go the distance for the win with Jacob Sharp in second. Todd Duncan, Chris Morrison, and Chris Lewis rounded out the top five. Steve Welch had a fiery exit from the feature race to finish sixth. Cody Rector, Dale Page, and Ryan Maston were unable to start the feature.

The final feature of the night was comprised of the fledgling Modified Mini class with Donnie Turpin leading the field to the green flag. Turpin had to battle a sour-running motor and Dustin Prueitt for the win. Prueitt got within a car length of Turpin by the end of the race, but couldn’t catch Turpin for the victory. Following Turpin and Prueitt in the rundown were David Singleton and Austin Lankford.

Next weekend, Wartburg Speedway will have more racing action in store for the loyal fans with multiple classes in action.


Comments are closed