Jaylon Shannon scores Sportsman win at Smoky Mountain


Jaylon Shannon

Along with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series the Smoky Mountain Speedway played host to racing in the Sportsman class on Saturday night. Jaylon Shannon proved to be the third different leader of the night and the one who crossed under the checkered flag first to earn the $1,200 victory.

Shannon led the 14-car field in qualifying by turning a lap of 17.083 seconds to beat out Zach Shannon, Patrick Duggan, Bradley Lewelling and Jerry Moss.

On the first attempt at a start in the 25-lap feature, Moss spun to bring out a caution. As a result, Moss had to give up his fifth starting spot as he was sent to the tail of the field for the single car mishap.

The next time the green flag waved, Zach Shannon took the early lead from his outside front row starting position with Jaylon Shannon, Duggan, Lewelling, Warren McMahan and Jed Emert. It was Emert who would move first as he went to the inside of McMahan in an attempt to take the fifth spot.

Jaylon and Zach Shannon race side-by-side early in the Sportsman feature

A lap 4 caution flag waved when Bryan Cooper spun and collected the cars of Hunter Kerr, Chris Ledbetter and Moss in the process.

On the ensuing restart it was Duggan who would move forward as he took second from Jaylon Shannon and immediately began to challenge Zach Shannon for the race lead. On lap 7 Duggan moved to the inside but was repelled. However, the No. 15 made another attempt on the next lap and drew alongside Shannon. As the two raced through turns three and four, Shannon’s No. Z1 machine suddenly slowed, eventually bringing out a caution flag and retiring from the race.

Emert again challenged McMahan and this time was able to grab the fourth spot. The No. 98 then went after Lewelling for the third position. In the meantime, Duggan continued to lead Jaylon Shannon as the race neared the halfway mark.

However, Duggan slowed suddenly on lap 11 with an apparent flat tire. As the No. 15 sat still at the entrance of turn three it was hit by the car of Cooper. The damage was not significant enough to force Duggan out of the race and he returned to action after his crew changed the flat tire.

Lewelling proved to be next victim of circumstances on lap 13 as he hit the turn 3 wall while running third. He was unable to continue as a result of the damage done to his car.

From that point, Jaylon Shannon would lead the field to the checkered flag to score the win ahead of Jed Emert, Walls Ray, Warren McMahan and Patrick Duggan.

Jaylon Shannon in victory lane



Comments are closed